There is an opinion that SEO is nothing more than the promotion of given key requests.
Sometimes the task is so straightforward and put: “how much will cost the putting in the top a query “air conditioners”?”. And with any arguments, the blank wall: “No, I do not need anything else, advance me requests A, B, C to the top and all!”.
Of course, top high-frequency queries are important and, of course, they affect the achievement of delivered results from sales / traffic etc. However, there are always three important factors to consider.
Relevance of key queries
Keyword selection is an important factor in the success of the SEO campaign.
At the same time, a key request that does not match the site – has a zero benefit, despite its frequency and rating. For example, you will be in the top 1 on request “air conditioners”, but at the same time sell hair care products, including shampoos and conditioners. Obviously, the gap between the satisfaction of users’ expectations and the content of the site will be catastrophic – its value for the campaign will be zero.
The construction of keywords occurs at the very beginning of the optimization of the site, before all actions. This is a very detailed detailed process that begins with understanding which keywords are already in the rating and lead to your site. After that, you need to analyze which queries are popular for your industry and your content. And, finally, you must evaluate the complexity of the output of the relevant keywords to determine which words to emphasize at the very beginning, and which ones to leave for later. This is a very important step, to miss that, means fatal consequences for the campaign from the very beginning.
There is an erroneous impression that if you sell any product, a request with high frequency will solve all your problems. And for months, and in some cases, for years, the owner of the online store pours on the coveted request, changing budgets, sites and contractors who can not reach the goal.
The conversion rate is an indicator that allows you to determine which inquiries lead to product sales, subscriptions, views or other purposes that you have identified as meaningful on your site.
Therefore, even if the site receives huge traffic from high-frequency requests, but they do not bring conversions – then they do not give you anything. We have an example, when a client brought to the top query “lease” and received a huge amount of traffic from Russia. But at the same time, his customized goal on the site = the creation of ads on the lease of real estate in Ukraine. Visitors came on request, downloaded a sample and closed the site. Do I need to say what was the conversion rate for this query?
In this case, key queries from the “long tail” have much higher conversion rates. The person who enters the query “shoes” is not so motivated to buy than the one who introduces “buy black sneakers 42 size”. The specificity of the query leads to an increase in conversion and this must be taken into account at the start, when compiling the semantic kernel.
Profit on investments
ROI is (or should be) the determining factor in the construction of budgets for any small business. The smaller the business, the lower the profitability. Everything you allocate means or time should return with dividends.
How to calculate ROI in an SEO campaign? It’s not so easy to evaluate. The growth of traffic, subscriptions with registrations or sales through the site is visible right away, it’s enough to open Google Analytics. The profitability is affected by a number of factors and calculates how and how much the SEO campaign contributes to it is not the simplest task.
The most popular is the simplest equation:
ROI = (Total Revenue from SEO – SEO Cost) / SEO Cost * 100%
Although there are others. Many take into account additional indicators, including internal ones, some use their methods. Nevertheless, you need to determine how to calculate the overall return on investment, this is a very weighty metric.
If you invest in SEO and do not see a return on these funds, then you throw it away. And in this case, the high positions of key inquiries do not matter if the value of investments is greater than the income.
The truth is that all these three factors – relevance, conversion rate and return on investment – are just parts of a large puzzle called “search engine optimization” and a marketer must constantly track each of them.